Is this the electric car Faraday Future will unveil at CES?

CCTV News

FaradayRumor

LAS VEGAS- Monday is a day that could far and away belong to Faraday Future.  The electric car company is set to unveil its concept at CES in Las Vegas.

There’s already a buzz among media attending the consumer electronics show about the car — despite the fact that it isn’t developed enough to be driven and it won’t likely be on a road near you until 2020.

Until now, the company has only released a short teaser video which doesn’t really show much of the car.

A Twitter user called @superogatory claims to have obtained images of the concept it says came from a premature release of Faraday Future’s iTunes app. The car shown appears to be an autonomous, sleek car straight from the set of “Batman.”

Faraday’s announcement is scheduled for Monday evening at 8pm PST (11pm EST, 0400 GMT).

So what’s behind all this buzz? In part, auto analysts believe Faraday’s car could pose the greatest challenge yet to industry leader Tesla. The company is backed by a billionaire Chinese internet entrepreneur named Jia Yueting.

Las Vegas is particularly interested in what Faraday Future unveils. Faraday previously announced plans to build a large factory in North Las Vegas, creating about 4,500 jobs.

Just hours before Monday’s announcement, Faraday was dealt a setback. Porter Harris, who had been designing the company’s battery system, resigned after less than a month on the job. It is unclear what happened.

What everyone here is hoping is clear by the time the day is done: what is Faraday dreaming up? And does it live up to the hype?